2014-2015 Season

01/20/2013 3PM
Anderson Center Osterhout Concert Theater

José-Luis Novo, conductor
Pascual Martínez Forteza, clarinet

Goldstaub I Am Prospero
Weber Clarinet Concerto No. 2
Brahms Symphony No. 3

Brahms inscribed in musical code his motto "Free but happy" throughout his haunting and lyrical Symphony No. 3, which reflects his strong affection and respect for composer Robert Schumann.  Weber's virtuosic Clarinet Concerto No. 2, performed by the New York Philharmonic's Pascual Martinez Forteza, and Binghamton University composer Paul Goldstaub's I Am Prospero, inspired by Shakespeare's The Tempest, round out this delightful concert.

"...one of the most gifted clarinet players of our time." David Robertson, conductor